New Delhi– Four new major ports are proposed to be set up, including in Tamil Nadu and West Bengal, parliament was told on Thursday.

“The government has proposed to set up four new major ports — Enayam in Tamil Nadu, Sagar in West Bengal, Dugarajpatnam in Andhra Pradesh and Vadhawan in Maharashtra,” Minister of State for Shipping Pon Radhakrishnan told the Lok Sabha in a written reply.

“Cabinet has conveyed in-principle approval for setting up of Enayam Port in Tamil Nadu on July 5, 2016. Assistance will be extended by the government based on their need,” he added.