Mumbai– The Reserve Bank of India will soon issue Rs 20 denomination banknotes bearing signature of Governor Urjit Patel, RBI announced on Thursday.

“The Reserve Bank of India will shortly issue Rs 20 denomination banknotes in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005, with the inset letter ‘R’ in both the number panels, bearing signature of Urjit R. Patel, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, and the year of printing ‘2016’ printed on the reverse of the banknote,” said a statement here.

The design and security features are similar to the Rs 20 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 issued earlier, except that on the obverse, the numerals on both number panels will be in ascending size from left to right, while the first three prefix alpha-numeric characters will remain constant in size, it said.

“The numeral 20, RBI seal, Mahatma Gandhi’s portrait, RBI legend, guarantee and promise clause, the governor’s signature and Ashoka Pillar emblem which were hitherto printed in intaglio (raised printing) are now being printed in offset (without any raised printing),” the statement added.

Besides, the rectangular identification mark on the left side of the banknote has been removed, the central bank said.

According to RBI, all the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 20 issued by it in the past will continue to be legal tender. (IANS)