Washington– PepsiCo CEO Indra Nooyi and well-known journalist-author Fareed Zakaria are among six Indian-Americans named for this years Ellis Island Medals of Honor for accomplishments in their respective fields.

The other four Indian-American recipients named in 2017 list by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organisations (NECO) include Harman International Industries chairman and CEO Dinesh Paliwal, Dr Annapoorna S. Kini, Yashvant Patel and Mohan H. Patel.

PepsiCo CEO Indra Nooyi

Pakistani-American Dr Adil Haider was also among the list of 88 awardees.

The Ellis Island Medals of Honor are given annually to individuals whose accomplishments in their field and service to the country are cause for celebration, NECO said on its website.

Nooyi has been the CEO at PepsiCo since 2006 and chairman since 2007. She was previously the president and chief financial officer at the company, as well as senior vice president, and senior vice president of corporate strategy and development, reported Connected to India, an online publishing platform serving NRIs and Indian diaspora.

Nooyi has also worked at Asea Brown Boveri, Motorola, The Boston Consulting Group, Johnson & Johnson and Mettur Beardsell Ltd.

She earned a Bachelor’s from Madras Christian College, an MBA from the Indian Institute of Management in Kolkata and a Master’s from Yale University.

Zakaria is the host of CNN’s “Fareed Zakaria GPS” as well as a columnist for The Washington Post. He has also served as a columnist at Newsweek, an editor at Newsweek International and editor-at-large of Time.

The Indian American has authored five books, three of which have been international bestsellers.

Fareed Zakaria

He earned a Bachelor’s from Yale University and a doctorate from Harvard University. He has also received honorary degrees from numerous universities including Johns Hopkins, Brown, the University of Miami and Oberlin College.

Paliwal has served as the president and CEO at Harman since July 2007 and later became the chairman in 2008. Prior to that, he served as president of ABB, where he worked for 22 years until he was hired at Harman.

He earned a Master’s degree at the Indian Institute of Engineering in Roorkee and later earned a Master’s in engineering and MBA from Miami University in Ohio.

Since its founding in 1986, the medal has been officially recognised by both Houses of Congress as one of the nation’s most prestigious awards.

The 2017 recipients will be honoured at a May 13 event on Ellis Island in New York.